All About Merit Badges

Merit Badges are the second main area of the Boy Scout advancement program. Unlike ranks, there is a degree of choice in the merit badge program. A sub-group of merit badges are known as Eagle required merit badges. To earn Eagle Scout, most of these badges must be earned although some are either/or badges. The remainder of the badges help with earning ranks as well as Eagle Palms after the Eagle Scout award has been earned. Boy Scouts may work on merit badges from the time they join a Scout troop until they turn 18. There is no time limit for completion of merit badges other than age 18.

Merit Badge Counselor Application

This is an online, fillable form

Click here

And, more general information

Guide for Counselors

Merit Badge Requirements

Click here

Merit Badge Counselors Listing

The Merit Badge Counselor information is now available through SCOUTBOOK.

If you have questions about how to access the list OR if you are a Merit Badge Counselor and need to make corrections to your entry, please contact: Ron Fedele  Council's SCOUTBOOK Champion

Scouts should check with their Scoutmaster for a 'Blue Card' or the names of available Merit badge Counselors.

5 Steps to become a Merit Badge Counselor (MBC)

1. Be knowledgeable in the subject area of a specific Merit Badge, either by vocation, avocation or special training.

2. Make sure you have a current YPT Certificate. If not, you must take Youth Protection Training (Click to link to: YPT)

3. You must be registered with BSA. If you're not, complete and turn in a BSA Adult Form.  Indicate Position Code "42" and your District. Adult Application Form

4. Complete a BSA Merit Badge Counselor Information Form. MBC Application Form.  Take the paperwork to the Council Office so it can be recorded.

5. Take a MBC training class in your district or online (  Click on COURSE CATALOG and search for "Merit Badge Counselor Training".